Quick Search

Author
Title
ISBN
Keyword
Seller ID Number
DETAILED SEARCH PAGE
 
Our secure web pages are hosted by Chrislands Inc, who use a Thawte SSL Certificate to ensure secure transmission of your information.
Fully Trusted SSL Certificate
 
 
Browse By Catalogue
Antiques, Collectibles
Art
Biographies
Black Donnellys / Lucan, Ontario
Brian Lumley
C S LEWIS
Canadian History
Canadian Literature Fiction
Children's
Children's Series Books
Coles Canadiana Collection
Cookbooks / Domestic Sciences
Dean Koontz
Dennis Wheatley
Edgar Rice Burroughs
Elizabeth Cadell / D E Stevenson
Erotica
H P Lovecraft / Robert Howard / Clark Ashton Smith
Hamilton & Ontario Local History
Historical Fiction
History
Horror
Humor & Comic Related
Ideas / Philosophy
J K ROWLING / HARRY POTTER Etc
J R R Tolkien
Literature Fiction
Lucy Maud Montgomery
Masonic / Freemasonry Books
Military History
Music & Dance
Mystery Adventure
Nigel Tranter / Nye Tredgold
Non Fiction
Occult / New Age / Myth / Legend
Philip K Dick
Pulps and Pulp Related
Religious Material
Romance Literature
Rosemary Sutcliff
Science Fiction Fantasy
Sports
Stephen King / Richard Bachman
T.V. & Movies & Theatre
The Shadow / Maxwell Grant / Walter B Gibson
Transportation
True Crime
Vintage paperbacks
War Novels
Westerns
Wilbur Smith / Jack Higgins / Clive Cussler
 
 
 
The Year of Finding Memory: A Memoir -a Signed Copy, Bates, Judy Fong (signed)

Author Name    Bates, Judy Fong (signed)

Title   The Year of Finding Memory: A Memoir -a Signed Copy

Binding   Hard Cover

Book Condition   Near Fine (see description)

Jacket Condition   Near Fine (see description)

Edition   First Edition

Publisher   Toronto, Ontario Toronto, ON: Random House Canada, 2010, 1st Edition, First Printing 2010

ISBN Number    0307356523 / 9780307356529

Illustrator   Photo Cover

Inscription   Signed

Seller ID   144421

----------hardcover, a Near Fine copy in a Near Fine dustjacket, signed without inscription by Bates, small ink initials on front blank endpaper, 296 pages, ---"In the tradition of The Concubine's Children and Paper Shadows, a probing memoir from the author of the acclaimed novel Midnight at the Dragon Cafe. An elegant and surprising book about a Chinese family's difficult arrival in Canada, and a daughter's search to understand remarkable and terrible truths about her parents' past lives. Growing up in her father's hand laundry in small town Ontario, Judy Fong Bates listened to stories of her parents' past lives in China, a place far removed from their every-day life of poverty and misery. But in spite of the allure of these stories, Fong Bates longed to be a Canadian girl. Fifty years later she finally followed her curiosity back to her ancestral home in China for a reunion that spiralled into a series of unanticipated discoveries. Opening with a shock as moving as the one that powers The Glass Castle, The Year of Finding Memory explores a particular, yet universal, world of family secrets, love, loss, courage and shame. This is a memoir of a daughter's emotional journey, and her painful acceptance of conflicting truths. In telling the story of her parents, Fong Bates is telling the story of how she came to know them, of finding memory. "---, any image directly beside this listing is the actual book and not a generic photo.

Bates, Judy Fong, Chinese Canadian Autobiography,

Price = 13.23 CDN




Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie