The Year of Finding Memory: A Memoir -a Signed Copy

By: Bates, Judy Fong (signed)

Price: $13.23

Quantity: 1 available


----------hardcover, a Near Fine copy in a Near Fine dustjacket, signed without inscription by Bates, small ink initials on front blank endpaper, 296 pages, ---"In the tradition of The Concubine's Children and Paper Shadows, a probing memoir from the author of the acclaimed novel Midnight at the Dragon Cafe. An elegant and surprising book about a Chinese family's difficult arrival in Canada, and a daughter's search to understand remarkable and terrible truths about her parents' past lives. Growing up in her father's hand laundry in small town Ontario, Judy Fong Bates listened to stories of her parents' past lives in China, a place far removed from their every-day life of poverty and misery. But in spite of the allure of these stories, Fong Bates longed to be a Canadian girl. Fifty years later she finally followed her curiosity back to her ancestral home in China for a reunion that spiralled into a series of unanticipated discoveries. Opening with a shock as moving as the one that powers The Glass Castle, The Year of Finding Memory explores a particular, yet universal, world of family secrets, love, loss, courage and shame. This is a memoir of a daughter's emotional journey, and her painful acceptance of conflicting truths. In telling the story of her parents, Fong Bates is telling the story of how she came to know them, of finding memory. "---, any image directly beside this listing is the actual book and not a generic photo.

Title: The Year of Finding Memory: A Memoir -a Signed Copy

Author Name: Bates, Judy Fong (signed)

Illustrator: Photo Cover

Categories: Biographies,

Edition: First Edition

Publisher: Toronto, Ontario, Toronto, ON: Random House Canada, 2010, 1st Edition, First Printing: 2010

ISBN Number: 0307356523

ISBN Number 13: 9780307356529

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition: Near Fine (see description)

Jacket Condition: Near Fine (see description)

Inscription: Signed

Seller ID: 144421

Keywords: Bates, Judy Fong, Chinese Canadian Autobiography,